@@ron's picture

Hello 

I have a small setup running Proxmox and i'm looking for some help on how to get a share in the trunkey fileserver to be seen in plex media server and the plex media server is running on a ubuntu container in proxmox. I'm new to proxmox and ubuntu and I'm hoping i can get a little help on getting a shared folder to been seen in plex. 

Thanks! 

Forum: 
Jeremy Davis's picture

There are many different options you could use to access the files between 2 Linux servers. But personally, my favourite is sshfs.

If you set up SSH keys, then no password is needed either which is handy IMO. As TurnKey already has SSH installed and running, you could do it from the Ubuntu side with no modifications required to your Fileserver. So long as the user (on Ubuntu) mounting the remote (Fileserver) location has write access to the local mount point, you shouldn't need to use sudo either.

Sorry that my answer isn't very specific, but I'm not that familiar with Ubuntu (although it based on Debian so should be pretty straight forward) and don't recall any of the command OTTOMH. Hopefully with the info I've shared, google should head you in the right direction. Thee should be plenty of info about setting up SSHFS. E.g. this, this and/or this.

One thing worthy of note though, is that by default you'll have trouble mounting SSHFS in an LXC container (e.g. on Proxmox) by default. But it is possible. I don't recall exactly, but google turned up a couple of likely looking posts here and an older (possibly not relevant one) here. The second is possibly a bit out of date, but may still be relevant, I haven't tested either, but they look worthy of a read at least...

If you get stuck or have any struggles, please post back and I'll do my best to help out. Actually, let us know how you go either way?! :) Good luck.

@@ron's picture

Thank you! I'll look in to this and report back. 

@@ron's picture